About Rochestown ETNS

We're excited!

Education our passion, teaching our service, learning our culture.

Fáilte go Scoil Náisiúnta Ag Foghlaim Le Chéile Baile an Róistigh!

Rochestown Educate Together National School is a new primary school that opened in August 2013 at Douglas Hall AFC. Due to our rapid growth, we are now accommodated at a purpose built 12 classroom temporary building at Garryduff Sports Centre. We strive for excellence in everything that we do.

We are passionate about education. We believe that a child learns best in a supportive environment. This involves partnership with the parents of our school. We implement best practice based on experience and research.

Teaching is a service to our community. We believe that a child learns best through participation and active learning in his or her community. Our school welcomes everyone.

Learning is an on going process, both for the pupils and adults in our school community. Learning takes place inside and outside of the classroom. Our school emphasises discovery based learning. We also hope that the school will be a learning centre for the wider community.


Go raibh maith agaibh,

Dr. Alan Sheehan


Rochestown ETNS has received the following awards:

  • Digital School of Distinction (2013-14)
  • Green Flag – Waste (2014-15)
  • Award of Excellence in Science and Maths (2014-15)
  • Award of Excellence in Science and Maths (2015-16)
  • Green Flag – Energy (2016-17)
  • Active School Flag (2016-17)
  • Award of Excellence in STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths) (2016-17)
  • Award of Excellence in STEM (2017-18)


Board of Management 2015 – present

The Board of Management meets at least once a term and usually twice a term.  It was constituted in December 2015. An agreed report is distributed to the school community after each meeting.

The current Board of Management consists of:

Chairperson: Barra Casey (Patron Nominee)  chairperson@rochestownetns.ie

Secretary: Alan Sheehan (Principal)

Andy Callanan (Community Nominee)

Michael Cleere (Parent Nominee)

John Fox (Community Nominee)

Marisa Geary (Patron Nominee)

Maria McGrath (Parent Nominee)

Noirín Moore (Staff Nominee)


School Staff 2018-2019

Principal: Dr. Alan Sheehan

Deputy Principal: Noirín Moore

Junior Infant Teachers: Chloe Sheehan, Yvonne Cregan

Senior Infant Teacher: Erica Murphy/Ellen Martin, Emer Dowling/Niamh O’Donovan

First Class Teacher: Clive Murphy, Ann Marie Kelleher

Second Class Teacher: Yvonne Larkin, Clodagh Cavanagh

Third Class Teacher: Pamela Morrison

Fourth Class Teacher: Rachael O’Sullivan

Support Teachers: Noirín Moore, Clare Lucey, David Saunders, Gavin Shanahan, Ciaran Fitzpatrick

Special Needs Assistants: Rebecca O’Leary, Terri O’Sullivan, Ann Coakley, Cathy Barron, Christine Kavanagh, Lia Harrington, John Ring, Angela Mulcahy

Secretary: Dolores Heaphy


Parents’ Association 2018-2019

Our Parents’ Association committee was established in November 2018.

Parents’ Association Officers:

Chairperson: Karen Dukelow-O’Neill

Vice Chairperson: Kelly Adams

Secretary: Joseph O’Driscoll

Treasurer: Cara O’Regan

Committee Member: Albane Ripert


Leave a Reply

July 2019
« Oct